Experiences / Culture – April 9, 2018

12 Books We Can’t Wait to Read in April

Via PureWow

PureWow is dedicated to finding ways to elevate your everyday.

What does it mean to be a modern woman? What’s the secret to perfect skin? Why are we all so obsessed with The Bachelor? These are all questions asked (and answered) in April’s best new books.

1.
Someday, Somewhere by Lindsay Champion
Structured like a sonata, this debut novel by PureWow’s food and wellness director is about a high school student, a violin prodigy and their unconventional bond.
2.
Look Alive Out There: Essays by Sloane Crosley
Filled to the brim with Crosley’s trademark wit, this collection of essays covers a handful of the weird shenanigans she gets into, from scaling active volcanoes and playing herself on Gossip Girl to befriending swingers.
3.
Something Wonderful by Todd S. Purdum
Calling all Broadway fans. Purdum’s latest is an in-depth look at the creative partnership that shaped musical theater. We’re referring to Richards Rodgers and Oscar Hammerstein III, of course.
4.
Bachelor Nation by Amy Kaufman
Kaufman’s unauthorized history of the Bachelor franchise is a fascinating study of its broader cultural implications, like how it has shaped society's feelings about love, marriage and feminism through a Jane Austen-esque marriage plot.
5.
No Way Home by Tyler Wetherall
A memoir in the vein of The Glass Castle, No Way Home is about the author’s unconventional childhood and growing up—unknowingly—on the run from the FBI.
6.
Macbeth by Jo Nesbo
A thrilling take on Shakespeare’s “Scottish Play,” this homage from the acclaimed Norwegian writer of The Snowman is set in the noir-ish 1970s in Scotland.
7.
How to Be Well by Frank Lipman, M.D.
This helpful handbook by author and wellness expert Dr. Lipman aims to teach you (or re-teach you) how to eat, sleep, move, protect, unwind and connect. All things we could use a little help with.
8.
You Think It, I’ll Say It by Curtis Sittenfeld
From the whip-smart author of American Wife and Eligible, an engrossing collection of short stories about everything from female friendship and social media to the election of Donald Trump.
9.
-1
Because We Are Bad by Lily Bailey
Reminiscent of Girl, Interrupted and The Bell Jar, Bailey’s debut memoir is about living with a debilitating case of obsessive compulsive disorder and her hard-won journey to recovery.
10.
The Female Persuasion by Meg Wolitzer
The author of The Interestings is back with a look at modern feminism through the eyes of both a wide-eyed millennial and hardened boomer.
11.
The Beauty of Dirty Skin by Whitney Bowe, M.D.
If you’ve ever stressed about a recurring pimple or a forehead wrinkle you fear is there to stay, dermatologist and research scientist Dr. Bowe’s first book is chock-full of (digestible) science and tips for maximizing skin health.
12.
Go Ask Fannie by Elisabeth Hyde
Three bickering adult siblings come together in the wake of their mother’s death to rebuild their family and connect with their aging father.
READ MORE >
Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly.Update my browser now

×